Australia is the World Cup champion for a sixth time, and their path to glory in 2023 has been remarkable. The Aussies began the tournament with consecutive losses but then won nine straight games to reach the semi-finals. They outlasted South Africa in a tense knockout game before dismantling hosts India for a six-wicket win in the final. David Warner had a magnificent campaign, Travis Head emerged as a star, Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins delivered when it counted, and Adam Zampa picked up 23 wickets. Here are The Roar’s Australian player ratings for the 2023 World Cup.

David Warner – 8.5
Warner had a spectacular World Cup, scoring 535 runs at an average of 48.63. His centuries against Pakistan and the Netherlands helped turn around the team’s shaky start to the tournament.

Travis Head – 9.6
Head returned from a fractured hand to score a 59-ball century on his World Cup debut against New Zealand. He was also a standout performer in the semi-final and final, with a heroic 137 to rescue the run chase against India.

Mitchell Marsh – 7
Marsh had a boom or bust tournament, but his standout performances helped announce Australia’s arrival as a World Cup force again. His unbeaten 177 against Bangladesh made a difficult run chase look easy.

Steve Smith – 7
Smith’s patchy contributions were overshadowed by his half-centuries in big wins over the Netherlands and Bangladesh. At 34, this is likely his last World Cup.

Marnus Labuschagne – 8
Labuschagne played a vital role in stabilizing the team’s middle order, with a patient 71 against England and an unbeaten 58 in the final.

Glenn Maxwell – 9.5
Maxwell’s record-fastest World Cup century against the Netherlands and his 201 not out against Afghanistan cemented his legacy as a limited-overs champion. His consistent influence with the ball also proved crucial for Australia.

Josh Inglis (wk) – 7
Inglis had his moments, with a half-century against Sri Lanka and significant contributions in the semi-final. He also set a World Cup final record with five catches.

Mitchell Starc – 8
Starc struggled in the early stages of the tournament but came through when it mattered most, wrecking South Africa’s top order in the semi-final and taking three wickets in the final.

Pat Cummins – 8
Despite criticism and polarized captaincy, Cummins delivered when it counted, helping Australia win the World Cup.

Australia’s remarkable journey to the World Cup title was fueled by standout performances from key players, solid contributions from the team, and a remarkable turnaround after a shaky start.

By admin