John Sattler was one of the greats in South Sydney’s history who led the team to four premierships from 1967 to 1971, with the team only losing to Balmain in 1969. Although the author was not old enough to see the St George packs, he remembers the South’s remarkable pack of forwards. The team’s great success was due to the fierce group of 10 forwards, which included Ron Coote, Bob McCarthy, Paul Sait, John O’Neill, Jim Morgan, Elwyn Walters, Bob Moses, Gary Stevens, and George Piggins. These players made the pack one of the strongest in the history of rugby league. These formidable forwards were known for their strength and unwavering determination, making John Sattler’s ‘wrecking crew’ one of the most dominant packs in the game’s history.

By admin