As we approach the final race of the 2023 F1 season at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, it’s time to reflect on the history of the event. The Yas Marina Circuit has not always produced the most thrilling races in Formula 1, but there have been a few standout examples of exceptional races at this visually stunning circuit. The race has been held every year since 2009, with a total of 14 races. Of those races, 11 have served as the season finale, a slot it has held since 2014.
Both Mercedes and Red Bull have enjoyed success at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, with each team securing six wins at the circuit. McLaren and Lotus are the only other teams to have won at Abu Dhabi, with McLaren winning in 2011 and Lotus in 2012. Australian drivers have not found much success at Yas Marina, with no wins and the best finish being a second-place finish by Mark Webber in 2009 and 2013.
Now, let’s take a look at the top five races in the history of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix:
5. 2011 – Winner: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)
Lewis Hamilton’s surprise win in 2011 broke Sebastian Vettel’s streak, and Fernando Alonso’s chase behind him made for an exciting race.
4. 2016 – Winner: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
This strategic race featured intense radio messages from Lewis Hamilton as his teammate Nico Rosberg secured his first and only World Championship.
3. 2012 – Winner: Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus)
Kimi Raikkonen’s triumphant win after a three-year absence from Formula 1 showcased his remarkable driving skill in a challenging car.
2. 2021 – Winner: Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
The controversial and iconic race saw a dramatic one-lap showdown for the World Championship between Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen.
1. 2010 – Winner: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
This race, featuring a four-way battle for the Championship, remains the best race in the history of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

By admin